A Brief History of NEBOSH

What do you understand by the term NEBOSH?

NEBOSH stands for “The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health”.

Set up in the year of 1979, NEBOSH is primarily an examination board of the United Kingdom that is concerned with providing certification courses in subjects like safety and health, environmental issues, as well as risk management. The vocational trainings are done based on the syllabus and assessment methods as prescribed by NEBOSH. Over 80 countries from all over the world have the centres that provide for the NEBOSH courses and NEBOSH training.

The certifications provided by NEBOSH are highly recognised by some of the top institutions like Institute of Environmental Management and Assessment (commonly known as IEMA), the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (commonly known as IOSH), and most importantly the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (commonly known as IIRSM).

Headquarter of NEBOSH is situated at Leicester, United Kingdom. Here is the address:

Dominus Way, Meridian Business Park, Leicester LE19 1QW UK

All the certification courses are followed by examinations from the NEBOSH board and these examination papers are checked by external examiners those who have high level of experience in the field of health and safety managements.

The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health offers for mainly two types of courses: The General Certificate Course & the Diploma Course.

The various NEBOSH certificate courses offered are as follows:

– National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety

– National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety

– National Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management

– International General Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health

– National Certificate in Environmental Management

– National Certificate in the Management of Health and Well-being at Work

– International Certificate in Construction Health and Safety

– International Technical Certificate in Oil and Gas Operational Safety

However, the awards for the best student in the NEBOSH National General Certificate category are presented by the SETA training and advisory Pvt Ltd. SETA is said to be one of the pioneer names in the field of providing training and certification courses from different universities.

NEBOSH have been awarded with numerous awards from reputed health organizations. During the year of 2000, the UK regulatory authorities mainly the CCEA, DCELLS and OFQUAL officially recognized and provided the stamp of authorized health and safety body. The authorization made NEBOSH an independent educational body with wide recognition and an addition to the university curriculum in places of England, Wales and Ireland.

During August 2009, the SQA authority in Scotland also approved NEBOSH and became a prominent course name at there.

Finally, NEBOSH is an ISO 9001:2008 certified educational organization and also have the IIP status that is been maintained on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *